Contact Us

Trick or Treat? Spot Scary Social Media Scams

Justin Sullivan, Getty Images

Social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter are unquestionably popular, but the Better Business Bureau warns that users may be the target of social media scammers.

Many people view their online personas as separate from their real-life ones and don’t take the same precautions to protect their identities, their computers or their money. Scam artists are savvy to consumers who click first and ask questions later.

The BBB warns social media users to be on the lookout for five common social networking scams:

Fake Friends. Not all friend requests come from real friends – or real people for that matter. Some Facebook accounts exist solely to cast a wide net for spamming or extracting personal data from users. Only accept friend requests from people you know.

Questionable Quizzes. Clicking on an ad or a link that takes you to a questionnaire on a website outside Facebook can lead to unwanted results. In many cases, the quiz may ask you to enter your cellphone number before you can view your results. If the scammers get your number, you could find yourself subscribed to unwanted and expensive text-messaging services.

Terrible Tweets. Direct messages may appeal to your vanity with a message that suggests you can be seen in a compromising or flattering way at a certain website. The link to the website actually prompts you to unwittingly download malware to your computer.

Grim Gifts. Clickjackers on Facebook entice you to copy-and-paste text into your browser bar by posting tempting offers, leading users to inadvertently download malicious code. Clickjackers then take control of your account, spamming your friends and further spreading their scams. Be suspicious of any too-good-to-be-true offers such as free coffee or pizza from well-known retailers.

Viral Videos. Videos with sensational headlines get users to visit an outside website and download malware in the disguise of a video player. If you click on the video, you will be prompted to “upgrade your Flash player now” and will then be asked to download a file that contains a “worm.” If you download and install the file, your computer will automatically log in to Facebook and send similar messages to your friends. Never download a file after clicking on a link.

Start With Trust. For trustworthy consumer tips and information, visit wynco.bbb.org or call 970-484-1348 or 800-564-0371.

More from 107.9 The River

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account with your Facebook account, just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing profile and VIP program points. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://theriver1079.com using your Facebook account.

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

Register on 107.9 The River quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a Member? Sign Up Here.

Sign up for an account to comment, share your thoughts, and earn points to get great prizes.

Register on 107.9 The River quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!